tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:/posts Fletchings 2023-05-23T03:16:49Z Jonathan Fletcher tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1978993 2023-05-23T03:16:49Z 2023-05-23T03:16:49Z Snake in the Garden

This is a Sansevieria, commonly known as a "snake plant" or (my favorite) "mother-in-law's tongue." This one just bloomed this spring. I cannot claim "green thumb" status because I understand they likely bloom when they are stressed. I have had other succulents that burst into gloriously ridiculous tall stalks of flowers and then promptly died, so I feel I am not a good influence on their longevity. I have never seen a snake plant bloom, though, so this is cool. 

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1588503 2020-08-30T05:12:50Z 2020-08-30T05:12:50Z Farewell, Mr. Boseman A couple years ago I was sitting in a theater watching the climax of the latest installment of Marvel's Avengers saga. It was the one where the big, bad environmental terrorist succeeds in realizing his fondest dream: that of eliminating half of all life in the universe. As one-by-one, various actors blink out into CGI dust and blow away on the breeze, one is forced to wonder, "who will be next?" 

Disappointments came quickly as favorite characters were eliminated in the final throes of Thano's dastardly deed. On the screen appeared the warrior-king of Wakanda, T'Challa. As the theater-goers continued holding their collective breaths in shock, Chadwick Boseman started to experience the same fate. 

In the middle of his decomposition, a black lady in the front row exclaimed, "Aw, HELL no!" 

Her hero was gone. The fictional, but remarkably powerful, heroic inspiration for many black people all over the world, was no more. 

I thought about that grieving lady this week. I, too, was aggrieved by the passing of such a powerful actor that has breathed so much humanity into some truly great cinematic characters. I was saddened to hear that his private battle with cancer was happening while he was bringing joy and inspiration to so many, literally the world over. 

I am an emotional cuss, my family will tell you, so I blinked back the tears thinking that Boseman's oeuvre, while amazing, would be forever cut short. I know that we fail often at separating the characters on screen from their real life persona, but since we have nothing else to go by, we eagerly ascribe their actions and personalities on-screen to the actors themselves. I know this, but still, with the sheer quality of the people Boseman played, I have to think that he chose parts that fit him well and didn't simply play parts to show off the range of his acting ability. 

So, of course, I grieved for the characters he played and hope that they represent the person enough to know that I am grieving for Chadwick Boseman. But I also grieved a bit for the lady in the front row in that dark room way back when, before we knew that he would be magically restored in the sequel (cinema, right?). 

Unfortunately, there will be no Infinity Stone miracle this time. 

I have thought of that lady all week, in her sincere grief, going, "Aw, HELL no!"

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1455241 2019-09-14T16:19:45Z 2019-09-14T20:15:32Z New Louisville Apple Store

Opened another Apple Store in Louisville. I was there 12 years ago when they opened it the first time. New one is a lot nicer and twice as big. An employee told me that it is the most expensive mall-based Apple Store so far. 

Stunning. 

They weren't giving away t-shirts this time, unfortunately. ::-(

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/868235 2015-06-11T03:57:22Z 2015-06-11T04:07:07Z Fourteen on the Sixteenth

FileMaker 14 has been out a few weeks now, but representatives from FileMaker, Inc. will be in town on June 16th to show of the all the coolness that this latest version of everyone's favorite productivity app development platform. More information at: http://www.kyfmp.com. Oh, and free Barbecue. Can't go wrong with that!

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/707993 2014-06-26T19:14:17Z 2017-03-07T01:31:33Z What to Do With a Drawer Full of Old Apple Devices

Well, one thing to do is to turn it into art. "It's a historical artifact and it belongs in a museum!" 

Or at least on the wall by my desk...


Included is the very first model of the iPod (with the physically rotating scroll-wheel), the first Shuffle, an original iPod Touch and a first-gen iPhone. 
]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/582191 2013-06-02T03:31:00Z 2013-10-08T17:26:01Z Balsa Wood Nixon

It was June 5, 1974. I was attending the graduation of the latest-and-greatest crop of USNA midshipmen, on account of I was a yearbook photographer while attending there for a little while. The big news that day was that POTUS was on hand to greet the graduates and give a speech. 

Of course, the scene was a circus, with secret service crawling all over the place touching their ear pieces and talking into little mics taped to the inside of their left index finger. Off in the distance, barely visible beyond a high iron fence, was a not-unexpected (the Viet Nam war was still on) protest group that felt that the best use of their day was to stand outside a symbol of the military that they hated hosting a speech by the president that they loathed, wave a few signs and exercise their first amendment rights until they were more than a little hoarse.

Then there were my companions for the day: news people from all over the world. I was assigned to stand in the wooden box thrown up to give the various news film crews a place to position their big movie cameras on tripods. (This was back in the day when if they said, "Film at 11:00," they actually meant film.) The guys next to me spoke little English and I caught incomplete snatches of the German that I barely learned in high school. I had nowhere near as much equipment as this journalistic elite, but it was still a nice vantage point from which to "shoot the president." 

I kind of understood that the yearbook editor thought I couldn't get in as much trouble being forced to stand in one spot during the entire event as I would roaming the crowd for close-ups. I was a little disappointed that I had to stay put and couldn't hunt for interesting shots, but I had my orders, and that's what life is all about when you are a plebe at a service academy: following orders, and liking it!

But, Nixon! I was getting to see my first president in person! I was only fated to gaze upon the most powerful man in the world through a telephoto lens, but the top graduates of the class were about to get much more! As part of their honor for doing so well at an institution of higher military learning, these future captains and admirals (and Marine Corps colonels and generals) were going to get to shake the hand of their commander-in-chief! An occasion as serious and dignified (and intimidating!) as one could imagine, I imagine. 

So, how did the cream of the crop, the top in their class, the elite of the elite of one of the most elite military officer training schools in the world, rise to the occasion? They decided to prank their president.

As the soon-to-be ensigns and second lieutenants came up to the president on the way to receiving their commissions, each one handed the president some little item, a shoulder board off of a uniform, a rubber alligator, a little American flag. Each was something small and creative and all were chosen to elicit smiles and chuckles from the crowd of military brass, journalists, parents, midshipmen and ultimately (they hoped) their president. (In retrospect, I feel it's safe to say that the Secret Service was not their target audience.)

There were awkward moments: a gifted frisbee was thrown out into the crowd upside-down, to sink to the ground after only traveling a few yards. But, the president who was known to be a pretty arrogant power-monger (even before the revelations of his in-office shenanigans), was remarkably affable, even mugging for the crowd at times and appearing to find humor in the situation. Still, the acts essentially amounted to senior pranks performed on the president of the United States. There was no doubting the sheer chutzpah of the class of '74. 

I guess there were likely a few future Tail Hook members (the association of Navy pilots that were later embroiled in the infamous sexual harassment scandal) because at least two (IIRC) of this elite team chose to hand the president balsa wood aircraft. One was a glider, which POTUS threw out into the crowd with about as much panache as the ill-fated frisbee. But one participant was better prepared: he had a wind-up propeller-driven craft that was all prepped for take-off! Tricky-Dick held on to it a little too long (allowing the rubber band to wind down a bit) before realizing he was supposed to let it go, so it did not go as far as it might, but it did fly. 

I guess it was a good thing he held it for a moment, because that was my moment. I snapped the shutter, and I got a shot that I have never seen anywhere else. I am kind of proud of my recording of a little piece of human interest minutia strategically placed in the calm eye of the storm that was to later knock his presidency off its foundations. 

One could hardly expect their little gifts to their chief to scratch the surface of the grand scheme of things in the remaining two months of his ill-fated presidency. But, just imagine for a moment, that perhaps in the dark times, Richard M. Nixon might have trotted out the memory of that day, and crack just a hint of a smile. Not enough that anyone would notice, of course, but maybe enough to erase some of the stress of the events unfolding in those days.

I left the employ of the U.S. government, as well, about six months later, so Nixon and I both had our major life-defining failures that year. I rebuilt my life into something I am really tickled with today, and Nixon loosed his bonds having earned back not a little of the respect that so famously plummeted with his presidency.

It's pretty apparent that Richard Milhous Nixon learned the same lesson I have since those days: your failures don't have to be your ultimate definition. 

I wonder if he learned how to smile, too.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66027 2012-08-07T16:13:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z My Desktop Work Area

What can I say, I'm kind of a "real estate" junkie...

2011 Mac Mini 2.3 GHz with a SATA III SSD and extra RAM, 2nd internal drive, an external 1 TB drive, and two 20" Cinema Displays. The 2007 MacBook Pro on the right serves as a 3rd monitor via the magic of AirDisplay. Various other Apple technology visible.

I'm already trying to work out how I can add more monitors.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66030 2012-05-28T22:23:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z FileMaker 12 Road Show Comes to Louisville

Our local FileMaker users group is co-hosting a lunch and presentation with representatives from FileMaker, Inc. of the new features in FileMaker Inc.'s latest iteration of their flagship solution development platform. If you're interested in learning more about the easiest way to write data-centric apps for the desktop, web and mobile devices, (and you're going to be anywhere near the Louisille, Kentucky area on the 14th of June) then feel free to join us for pizza and a presentation at the Marriott Courtyard Downtown.

Info here: http://www.filemakerlouisville.com.
Register here: http://www.kyfmp.com/reg/.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66032 2012-01-07T18:33:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z I Made It

Well, Today I did something that Steve Jobs didn't (In addition to that dropped-out-of-more-colleges thing). I made it to my 57th birthday. (Thank you, Rachel, for the shirt!) 

In another month and a half, Steve would have made it to his 57th. 

It's interesting to note what that 57 years has brought. Steve and I were born into a country that had 48 states. When we were born the telephone sat on a table in the front hall, and couldn't be carried around the house unless we paid the extra charge for the really long cord. We listened to our music on these big plastic disks that started to sound pretty bad after a few dozen times on our phonographs. We gathered together on the couch in the living room to watch blurry, wavy, snowy black and white images on the big box in the corner. Engineers calculated loads on bridges and electrons through vacuum tubes the way that God intended: on strips of painted wood (or that newfangled stuff called plastic) with numbers etched into them. 

While we can't really credit Steve and I with Alaska and Hawaii, we had our own huge parts to play in changing the way the world uses technology.

Yep, Steve and I:

He made 'em. 

And I bought 'em.
]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66034 2011-10-07T11:39:17Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Good bye, Steve

Farewell to the guy who helped define a big part of who I was for the last 26 years.

 

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66036 2011-07-28T01:11:49Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z An interesting thing arrived today... I received a big flat package via FedEx today. I wracked my brain: "did I order an LP from Amazon?" Not that I remember. Oh, it's from FileMaker! I tore it open. Enclosed was physical proof that I passed the hardest written test I have ever taken in my life. It says I am now officially a "FileMaker 11 Certified Developer." Not having an appropriate wall space for such things I put it in the file next to the ones for versions 9 and 10.

Now, back to talking about their business data needs to potential clients who never heard of FileMaker.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66038 2011-07-05T19:19:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Fireworks on the iPhone Revisited

A while back I posted a mediocre effort at shooting holiday fireworks. The most recent 4th of July gave me another opportunity to try out my iPhone on everyone's favorite really hard to shoot subject: fireworks! The iPhone 4 does a much better job than my old 3G did at shooting things that go bang in the night. With the added touch of a really nice video editor right on the phone (iMovie) it's one fun little video producer:

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66040 2011-07-05T14:54:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z The Aftermath Just part of the remains of $1000 worth of fireworks burnt up in an hour by my brothers-in-law. Brought to you today by the word "pyromaniac."

Sure was fun, though.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66042 2011-05-03T20:53:16Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Pano, my current favorite panorama app And the hostas look pretty good this time of year, too!

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66043 2011-04-27T02:29:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Bearded Irises

In memory of my wife's uncle: a few of the irises he prized and tended. They may be in our yard now, but they're still known as Alden's irises.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66044 2011-03-28T12:40:05Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z The Trees are White, the Ground is White... For different reasons.

Spring snow last night.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66045 2011-02-11T04:22:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z iPad Travel screen

I am addicted to screen real estate. So much so that even a 15" laptop screen isn't enough to hold it all. At my desk I have a 20" Cinema Display next to my MacBook Pro. When traveling, though, I have to make do.

I do always have my iPad with me. If only there was a way to...

Ta da! Enter Air Display! If you're on wifi (and where aren't you these days?) you can use your iPad as you would any old second monitor. You can mirror your main screen (okay, I haven't found a use for that yet, but you can) or you can just add another 768x1024 to your desktop for some ancillary application or reduce your window congestion in a development environment like, ahem, FileMaker. Behold:

I'd much rather have my Cinema Display for this kind of work all the time, but it stretches the seams something fierce on my laptop bag.

Air Display is $9.99 in the iOS app store and works on the iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66046 2011-01-20T20:52:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Insulated

<<Comment deleted due to error: "Hyperbole limit exceeded.">>

Ok, I do like my iPhone. Takes nice pictures, don't you think?

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66047 2010-10-18T01:36:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z iPhone 4's HDR Option
Here's something that cannot be done with the iPhone app called ProHDR that was mentioned here a few posts back. HDR = High Dynamic Range, a photography technique that uses multiple exposures at different settings to create an image not possible with a single shot. ProHDR is my favorite app for scenery and other static images requiring RG-HDR (Really Good HDR).

Since ProHDR takes photos a few seconds apart (even in automatic mode) it cannot resolve moving objects for beans. You get misaligned images. The HDR option in iP4's 4.1 software takes the multiple shots very fast. Not only does this reduce the required aligning of hand-held shots, but slowly moving objects can sometimes be aligned. 

The adorable little girl in these shots was riding toward me when I took these. The first one is the standard "normal" shot that the iPhone can save as a user-settable option. The second one, though, is the shot that is recorded when the HDR setting on the iPhone camera is turned on. Notice the improvement in both the highlight and shadow detail? Notice that the moving cyclist is sharp enough to make it an adequate photo.

Nice job, Apple. 

Again.

Neither of these photos is adjusted in any way since they were taken.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66048 2010-09-19T23:04:53Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Call Me a Fan Boy? Okay, maybe I am...

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66049 2010-09-18T17:58:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z California Rollin'
Our Korean foreign exchange student and a friend made California rolls for a party they are going to later. Taco meat adds a unique touch.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66050 2010-09-13T02:14:05Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Mmmmmm From Korea. Available at your local Asian grocery. Kinda like cream-sicles with some awesome flavors. Having a Korean living in your house is sure a tasty education!

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66051 2010-09-12T21:10:22Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Beaner boulev... WHAT!? Continuing with today's miscellany theme...

So the Residence Inn in Ft. Wayne was full that week and I had to stop somewhere else at the last minute. This is the town where the sign on their number one municipal building says (I kid you not) "City of Gas City City Hall."
Do I need to mention that this is Indiana.

(If you missed the point here, reread the address above.)]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66052 2010-09-12T20:26:53Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z What, don't they drive to church together? ]]> Jonathan Fletcher tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66053 2010-08-16T05:09:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z iPhone 4 FTW
Can your phone camera do this?

Hmm, I thought not.

BTW, I stopped by the AT&T store today for a legitimate purpose and just off-hand asked them about their stock of the new Blackberry that is being advertised all over the place right now. They said they had plenty of them--maybe about 15 of them on the shelf in the back. Then, like the jerk fanboi that I am I asked them how many iPhones they had. 
They said they were all out of them.
]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66054 2010-08-16T04:56:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Home grown tomato salad
This is why you grow tomatoes and basil in your backyard. I think the next thing I put in will be a rice wine vinegar distillery, or an olive press. 

You will never know how good this was. 

And I think there's a kind of profound sadness inextricably tied to that fact.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66026 2010-07-20T04:35:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z FileMaker Go: New Mobile Apps for FileMaker
Moments ago, FileMaker released new apps for accessing FileMaker files for the iPhone and iPad. This shot shows the same FileMaker solution accessed by a computer, an iPhone and an iPad. Obviously, there are some serious UI issues to deal with, but we now have the tools for some great solutions to problems you never thought you'd see solved. 
]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66028 2010-07-12T17:13:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z iPhone Shoots So-So Fireworks Video

All over this here U.S. of A. brand new iPhone 4 owners, eager to explore the boundaries of the incredible camera in their new toy, pointed them skyward to capture the quintessential American celebration.

And were disappointed.

Being a fireworks shooter since way back in the film days (remember film?) I know how to use the settings to record some of those incredible patterns of long color streaks that we all know and love.

Just not on the iPhone. Without shutter speed and aperture controls fireworks appear as white blobs. All my attempts at shooting stills of the occasion were so disappointing as to force me to discard them immediately. 

I did, however, find that the iPhone does video a little better. You still get short streaks and washed out color, but with the dimension of time, there is a least something to see.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66029 2010-07-10T19:43:58Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z Parking Lot "Weed" Captured by iPhone 4 Here is something I found attempting to brighten its little corner of a parking lot. The iPhone 4 does a great job of capturing its valiant effort.

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher
tag:jfletch.posthaven.com,2013:Post/66031 2010-06-28T13:15:00Z 2013-10-08T15:35:38Z More Plastic Bullet Shots
I posted about Plastic Bullet a few weeks ago. It's an iPhone app that makes photos on your iPhone look like they were shot with a cheap plastic film camera. Here's a mini gallery of what I've come up with playing with it since then: 

]]>
Jonathan Fletcher